City of Meriden
Follow Us on TwitterFind Us on Facebook
Home  |  About  |  Site Map  |  Contact

Standing Committees

There are several Council standing committees, organized by municipal functions such as economic development, public safety, and health and human services, which conduct the majority of the Council’s activities at regularly scheduled meetings. The standing committees hold public hearings, review Council referrals, and forward recommendations to the City Council for its consideration and approval. No ordinances or proposed bylaws can be approved by the Council until an appropriate Council Committee has held a public hearing on the item in question. The Clerk to the Council Committee reports to the Chairperson of the Standing Committee.

Since meeting dates may change due to holidays and other special events, citizens are encouraged to check the date and time of each meeting with the Clerk to the City Council by calling 203.630.4125 weekdays 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Economic Development, Housing & Zoning Committee
(meets third Tuesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.)
View Meeting Minutes  

David Lowell, Chairperson 
Daniel Brunet, Vice-Chairperson
Brian Daniels
Sonya Jelks
Lenny Rich 

Finance Committee
(meets second & fourth Tuesdays of the month at 6:00 p.m.)
View Meeting Minutes

Miguel Castro, Chairperson
Walter A. Shamock, Vice-Chairperson
Catherine Battista
Michael Cardona
Lenny Rich 

Human Services Committee
(meets fourth Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m.)
View Meeting Minutes 

Bob Williams Jr., Chairperson
Sonya Jelks, Vice-Chairperson 
Miguel Castro  
David Lowell
Joseph Carabetta III

Public Safety Committee
(meets second Wednesday of the month at 5:15 p.m.)
View Meeting Minutes

Larue Graham,  Chairperson
David Lowell., Vice-Chairperson
Michael Cardona
Bob Williams, Jr.
Joseph Carabetta III

Public Works - Parks & Recreation Committee
(meets second Tuesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.)
View Meeting Minutes

Catherine R. Battista, Chairperson
Brian Daniels, Vice-Chairperson
Dan Brunet
Walter Shamock Jr.
Larue Graham

Board of Education:  Catherine Battista
Meriden Housing Authority:  Brian Daniels
Pension Board:  David Lowell, Lenny Rich
Labor:  Steven Iovanna, Daniel Brunet
Golf Commission:  Brian Daniels, Bob Williams, Jr.